2013 Favorites: #17 Oranssi Pazuzu – Valonielu

2013 Favorites: #17 Oranssi Pazuzu – Valonielu

As you well know, I’m not a genre purist when it comes to what I like. If it’s good, I don’t care what you call it. So I don’t find Oranssi Pazuzu’s mix of black metal, psychedelia, krautrock, Killing Joke-esque post-punk and everything else they love off-putting in the least, because my sweet lord is it good. I can hear the influences but they’ve managed to craft something new from all the disparate elements. It’s also a grower of an album, where each listen opens up new avenues of discovery, and subtle touches resolve from the distant background to bring clarity to the whole. This is the kind of record that will likely grow in my estimation as the years go on.

One thought on “2013 Favorites: #17 Oranssi Pazuzu – Valonielu

  1. Pingback: 2013 Favorites Collected Links | I Am Not Me

Leave a Reply

