PopMatters: Lenny Kravitz – Are You Gonna Go My Way [Deluxe Edition]

I reviewed the reissue of Lenny Kravitz’ best album, Are You Gonna Go My Way, for PopMatters. The scoring isn’t what I wanted (I asked for a 7 for the album and a 3 for the extras, or a 5 overall if they didn’t want to split it into two ratings) but I’m happy with the review.

It wasn’t until 1993’s Are You Gonna Go My Way that Lenny Kravitz released an entire album where he sounded more like himself and less like anyone else. For its 20th anniversary, the album has been lovingly remastered, and the vaults have been opened for demos, outtakes, acoustic versions, and collected b-sides. This is both a wonderful and horrible thing. What was once his tightest and most consistent record is now instead a document of an era; though there are some interesting curios, the sheer weight of ephemera weighs the album down and nearly drowns it.

Leave a Reply

