Twilight of the Gods – “Fire on the Mountain”

Classic metal with Alan Averill of Primordial on vocals? Color me intrigued. 

On first listen it’s not great; the riffs are strong, but there isn’t a strong hook that catches the ear. I’m also a little thrown by Alan singing purely in a clean style. I love his stentorian baritone and though he’s long screamed in his higher register, I’m surprised he can carry those high wails consistently.

I need to hear more. As is, the two songs I’ve heard seem more interesting than essential.

Leave a Reply

