2012 Favorites: #5 Ufomammut – Oro: Opus Primum/Opus Alter

5. Ufomammut – Oro: Opus Primum/Opus Alter

A double album released in two parts roughly six months apart, Ufomammut’s Oro is their magnum opus, a crowning achievement by a band with a back catalog as rich as any over the past decade. At the meeting point of psychedelia and doom, Ufomammut use the 90-odd minutes of Oro to explore themes to their fullest, resolving, restating and reframing motifs, building songs on phrases left adrift 30 minutes earlier. This is something rarely explored in heavy music, and when explored, rarely done well. I don’t think I will play it all that often (my goto quick hitter for Ufomammut remains Snailking), but I know there is more for me to find in this release than in almost any other record I heard this year. I expect it will only grow in my estimation as more of it’s secrets open to my ears.

One thought on “2012 Favorites: #5 Ufomammut – Oro: Opus Primum/Opus Alter

  1. Pingback: 2012 Favorites | I Am Not Me

Leave a Reply

