2012 Favorites: #17 Eagle Claw – Timing of the Void

17. Eagle Claw  – Timing Of The Void

I love instrumental stoner/doom bands; most of the time in this genre it’s the riffs that I listen for and dropping the vocals is just cutting to the chase. I saw these guys open for YOB last February in their hometown of Austin and picked up their prior record, Poacher, after they’re rip-roaring set. They cautioned me that they had grown a lot since the 2010 release, but I was still surprised that Poacher was so unrepresentative. When they released Timing Of The Void at Halloween I had high hopes; they were all met. This is the band I saw last year, the one that had hundreds of people moving as one being, head-banging and pulsing forward and back. I’ve had the record a relatively short time but with each spin it only grows in my estimation.

One thought on “2012 Favorites: #17 Eagle Claw – Timing of the Void

  1. Pingback: 2012 Favorites | I Am Not Me

Leave a Reply

