2012 Favorites: #25 Woods of Ypres – Woods 5: Grey Skies

25. Woods Of Ypres – Woods 5: Grey Skies & Electric Light

David Gold was tragically killed almost a year ago, leaving behind this final album, the breakthrough he so richly deserved. Shortly before his death, he gave an interview to Adrien Begrand for Terrorizer magazine. In it he said:

I had hoped for so much more for myself by this age. I feel like I made a contribution in creating, from which I did gain some sense of creative satisfaction, but really, creating was more like a donation to the world in which I’ve sacrificed my life. I’ve given all I had while pushing the music forward but the returns have not been enough to enhance my life or improve my lifestyle. I realize that people appreciate the music, and that’s great, and we do have some very loyal supporters, but we’re always in the red. Praise, emails, tweets are great but they’re not currency. Still, those are the risks we’ve taken to make this music while we had the chance. Making this music a reality will pay off, at least personally, creatively, in the long run but it’s quite the hustle to actually make it happen, mostly all on our own.

Reading that again brings nothing but sadness. Thanks for the art, David. Rest In Peace.

One thought on “2012 Favorites: #25 Woods of Ypres – Woods 5: Grey Skies

  1. Pingback: 2012 Favorites | I Am Not Me

Leave a Reply

