2012 Favorites: #23 Giant Giant Sand – Tucson

23. Giant Giant Sand – Tucson

I’m not much of a Giant Sand fan, but this was recommended to me by a trusted friend and I was immediately smitten. I guess what it took to convert me to Howe Gelb’s side was an expanded band and a murky narrative thread. The weirdness of the modern American Southwest needed a rock opera, and Gelb was the only logical person to give it a whirl. The record is a bit of everything, a wonderful melange of all the cultures that meet in the heat, the drifters and detritus that gathers at the base of the black hill. But I’ve found that it either works for people or it doesn’t; you either surrender to it’s odd charm or are repulsed by it’s genre hybridization.

One thought on “2012 Favorites: #23 Giant Giant Sand – Tucson

  1. Pingback: 2012 Favorites | I Am Not Me

Leave a Reply

