Robyn Hitchcock – “1974”

painkillerthepigeon:

Robyn Hitchcock – 1974

I will pretty much always reblog something from Storefront Hitchcock, especially a song that name checks “Rebel Rebel”, the infamous Guardian review of Monty Python’s fourth series, Syd Barrett’s real name, and still finds time toinvent the indispensable phrase “ghastly mellow saxophones”.

“You have two coffees, one of them is one coffee too many for you.”

Have I ever mentioned that I love Storefront Hitchcock?

I’ve always interpreted the “two coffees” line as an unconscious callback to “My Wife and My Dead Wife” and “coffee for three”. Because why not?

I saw Robyn a few weeks before this was filmed, and had a lead on being in NYC for this but decided it was too much of a hassle. I’m a ninny sometimes.

Leave a Reply

