YOB, Finally

Finally got to see Yob last night. Well worth the wait of years for a date on a weekend within 200 miles of me.

I think the biggest surprise to me was not how incredibly heavy they got on occasion, but how often they grooved like hell as they amped up from the glacial segments. The rhythm section doesn’t exactly swing, but the have a fine lock groove that isn’t as apparent on record. Mike was also in fine voice, effortlessly going from a growl to a screeching howl to a clean melodic tone. 

If they weren’t the best live band I’ve seen in recent years it’s only because Ludicra were so damn good.

I’ll have more on my first visit to Austin at a later date.

Leave a Reply

